4 stars for “Careless Whispers – 01 – Denial by Lisa Renee Jones”

*** ARC kindly provided by the publisher “Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books.”, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. ***

Denial Lisa Renee JonesI really loved the “Inside Out” series from this author and was so happy when I got approved for this ARC!

This is a well written story but it seemed to drag a little. Well ‘drag’ sounds worse than it was… I can’t exactly point out what I missed but I did really enjoy it. I would have loved some more suspense or drama.

As for the story. I really liked the concept of a young woman ‘Ella’ waking up in the hospital with amnesia, after she was found unconscious in an alleyway in Rome by the gorgeous, protective, wealthy, dangerous, cranky, powerful, sexy Kayden! Sounds good huh?? Kayden feels familiar to her but she doesn’t remember anything and he claims they don’t know each other. Why was she in that alleyway? What happened? Who is she running from? What is she doing in Italy? Kayden takes care of her and soon he takes her home. His friend creates a new, safe identity for her. Together they try to help her find out the truth. Small triggers make her remember painful parts of her recent and older past. There are several side characters but who can be trusted and who can’t? She feels safe with Kayden but can she trust him?

Deceit. Lies. Secrets. Danger. Pain. Now the story is finished there are still lots of questions unanswered and new questions to be answered. I’m really looking forward to the next book! I loved this one but I liked the Inside Out series more. Therefor it’ll get 4 stars.

Leave a comment