4 stars for “On the Ropes – 01 – Fighting Silence by Aly Martinez”

RFighting Silenceecently I saw a lot of great reviews on “The Fall Up” which isn’t available to buy yet so I wanted to read another book from this author first. Thanks Christy for suggesting to start with this one, I loved it. I’m sure there are more than 1 Christy on GoodReads but I guess she’ll know it’s her… I was intrigued and who doesn’t like a hot, strong boxer?

One thing that I was a bit afraid of was the indication of College in the shelve list on Goodreads. I try to prevent books with characters still in school because it’s more difficult to relate with them. God now I feel really old 😉 But fortunately this was not an big issue with this book.

I really loved this well written, beautiful but sad story about Eliza and her soulmate Till. Their first encounter was at 13, they both had a hard life growing up and with some struggles on the way they grew up to 2 wonderful, strong, caring people! I won’t tell more about this story. You can read it in the description of the author or even better buy the book and read it …

There are 2 smalls things that bothered me a little about this book. The first is the time gaps in the story. It felt like pieces of the story were missing/rushed. And the second is that I like a little bit suspense in my books. It took until 89% before there was suspense. But still an enjoyable book!

I loved most of the side characters but especially Flint and Quarry and will definitely read their books, hopefully soon but first I need to get my TBR list reduced!

Leave a comment